Episode 10

Guess what? ArtLab is making a comeback! And this time we’ve got three new girls on our team. We’re extremely excited to have MeganClara, and Anika joining our “crew!”

Megan took the liberty to post the first comeback episode; she made some super cool drawings with oil pastels. Make sure to check it out.

Anyway, onto my watercolor and saran wrap technique and pattern-full flower ATC.

My inspiration…

8d9fcb30e875b0fff0eba3397f8c6da6

I used this picture from Pinterest, just to help me visualize what I wanted.

DSC_1653

 

For the background of my ATC, I tried a new technique. I started out by painting my card with bright watercolors. While it was still wet, I laid a crumbled-up piece of saran wrap (or sandwich bag) on the card.

DSC_1657

 

Sadly, it didn’t turn out the way I was hoping it would. But sometimes art does that to you. Trust me–it happens to me all the time. I usually start to give up, but then remember my post about how it’ll never be perfect. Once I’m done the project, I almost always love it, and I’m glad I stuck with it. So remember, don’t give up.

I’m pretty sure my paint was too wet, and that’s why it didn’t turn out the way I had hoped.

DSC_0055

 

I’m a strong believer in drawling with a pencil before using a sharpie. (Which is permanent, you know…) So I drew my flower with a pencil. I was extremely glad I did it this way; let’s just say the eraser was my friend today😉.

DSC_0051

 

Twenty minutes (and a few erasers) later, I started tracing with my fine-print sharpie. The tracing took a while, since I wanted it to be the best it could be.

DSC_0059

 

DSC_0067

 

And it’s finished! In the end I was extremely happy with it, even though it wasn’t like the picture on Pinterest. And it got me thinking… Why do I always want my art to look like the pictures I see on Pinterest? If my creations were just like the other persons, they would be unoriginal. And no one likes unoriginal…

 

DSC_0084

 

And of course, right after I put the last touches on the card, I taped it to My ATC Wall. I think it’s a great new facet of my display, what do you think?

If you wanna see all the ArtLab episodes in one place, follow The ArtLab Blog. And if you were inspired to make  art from any of our episodes, email pictures of your creations to artlabblog [at] gmail [dot] com. We’d love to share them!

Are you gonna make an ATC with this inspiration?

♥HAYLEY

P.S. Want more inspiration for your art? Make sure to check out my ATC Motivation Board on Pinterest.

7 thoughts on “Episode 10

  1. That’s amazing! It inspired me to do something similar, although I haven’t done it yet. You know the colored shavings that come out when you sharpen a pencil? Basically, I was thinking to rub the shavings into the paper, and then to a loose pattern over it in black sharpie. 🙂 I might do it tomorrow! Can I send in a picture even if it’s not that specific technique, but inspired by it?

    Like

Did you like this post? We'd love to hear from you!

